Ecocrackenback 5 'Sustainable chalet close to the slopes.'

in Crackenback

from $311
per night
Car parks


Ecocrackenback consists of 18 four star habitats nestled amongst the snow gums on 40 acres along the Alpine Way.


Ecocrackenback is conveniently located within Crackenback Valley, nestled amongst the local flora and fauna, these self-contained chalets are the ideal base for you to make the most out of your Snowy Mountains adventure.

These nature based eco sustainable buildings include cross ventilated living spaces, raked ceilings with fans and offer abundant natural light. All chalets enjoy polished concrete heated floors and clean-heat ethanol fireplaces for those snowy winter nights.

Enjoy the rural setting through the large floor to ceiling windows and back deck while taking advantage of the weber BBQ and outdoor dining setting in the summer months.

Only 10 minutes drive from Jindabyne, 20 minutes to Thredbo and 10 minutes to the Ski Tube which takes you to Perisher and Charlotte's Pass (ski-tube operates in winter only) offers plenty of options for a fun day on the Snow. A heated drying rack in the entry way provides a convenient way to dry your ski gear after a long day on the slopes.

Each self-contained chalet is a perfect fit for families of 4 or 2 couples with the bedding configuration option of 1 king bed & 2 singles beds or 2 king beds. Please check specific chalet bedding configuration before making booking. Ecocrackenback 5 has 2 king beds. There are 18 chalets on offer at Ecocrackenback so please check multiple chalets for your chosen dates.

Ecocrackenback offers instantaneous gas hot water, a communal laundry and Worm Farm System for grey water management and food waste. All habitats are fully appointed with fridge/freezer, dishwasher, Smeg convection microwave/grill, double hotplates, weber BBQ & TV.

Please note: Wifi is currently not available at Ecocrackenback. Photos may not be of this particular habitat and are indicative of all habitats at Ecocrackenback.



Extra Features

Big Screen TV
Ceiling Fans
Clothes Dryer: Communal
Dining Room
DVD Player
Electric Heating
Floor Heating
Furniture Outdoor
Iron And Board
Laundry: Communal
Microwave Oven
Washer/Dryer: Communal
Washing Machine: Communal

Bedding Configuration

Bedroom 1
  • King Bed x 1
Bedroom 2
  • King Bed x 1
  • Shower
  • Toilet


11 WOLLONDIBBY ROAD, Crackenback



Peaceful and away from the noise

Danielle Serena - 28th January 2022

The property was exactly as advertised, quiet and away from it all. We had a few furry visitors during our stay which was lovely for my family. Communication with the managers was great before and after our stay. Very happy to stay again.

Reply 28th January 2022

Thank you for your review! The local fauna is always entertaining here at Ecocrackenback. It was a pleasure having you stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Great covid-friendly Retreat

Andrea Oconnor - 11th January 2022

The location, living area was very comfy, the bed too. Views were terrific too, plus the feeling you were the only ones there

Reply 11th January 2022

Thank you for leaving your review Andrea. We are happy to hear that you had an excellent time. The views are just beautiful from the living room and balcony aren't they! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Three for three

Samantha - 15th June 2021

The property is in a lovely location and super convenient to ski fields and Jindabyne but far enough away from noise! Unfortunately on arrival we found three large huntsman spiders, thankfully all dead! One in each bedroom and one in kitchen, and one live one in bathroom! While at least lost were dead this told us the property had not been checked or prepared for our arrival the ad states floor heaters would be on for arrival but they were not and it was a bit dirty! Bedside tables were very dirty, crumbs and marks on dining table snd coffee table. Not 4*! I would rate it 3! We also had super noisy neighbours who stayed up yahooing until nearly 3 in the morning snd traffic noise woeful! We understand you get that snd not much can be done and certainly noisy guests are not management fault, but too noisy for us. We thought it was well set out snd beautiful grounds (make sure you walk around as there are some paths with signs that tel you a bit about their eco system). Undecided if we’d stay again! I think it’s 3 star though and not 4! Have not dated in a four star where we have to clean up and empty rubbish before we leave? But love attention on our environment in the design!

Fabulous place !

Julie - 16th September 2020

We absolutely love the place. It's very clean and the design is well thought through. There are even additional air racks for drying your clothes. We were lucky to see the stunning milky way at night and had a few kangaroos dropping by. Will definitely come back again.

Great location & close to the snow fields.

Gillian - 5th September 2020

Great 4 days stay. Loved the heated floors & heated towel rail. We even got to see a wombat one morning.

Wonderful retreat

Cherie - 3rd January 2020

The ecolodge in Crackenback is in a beautiful location, situated within the National Park. A short 10 mins drive from Jindabyne and right next door to the Wild Brumby Schnapps distillery. Wildlife galore and a short drive up to Thredbo and Perisher Valley. Good size fridge, 2 large bedrooms and a great open plan area. We had quite a few 8 legged visitors (probably not great if you’re arachnophobic), but other than that, the accomodation was great. We sadly had to cut our stay short and left on NYD when the smoke from the bushfires became unmanageable and new fires started in the park.

We Will Be Back

Roberto - 10th September 2019

Ecocrackenback is a Great place, nice location, and very good quality lodge. We will be back.

Clean and modern with nature on your doorstep

Anglea - 28th August 2019

We stayed here over a Friday and Saturday night. The location was great, just 10 mins from Jindabyne. The cabins were all spaced away from each other making them a nice quiet place to stay with privacy. Each cabin had there own parking area. The cabin itself was clean, practicable and spacious. The cabin had concrete floors which were heated and the bedrooms also had heating under the carpet. The lodge was very eco-friendly and you had to take your own rubbish to sort in the bins close by. The beds were comfy, both of them king size. The kitchenette had a microwave, fridge and dishwasher. Cutlery and plates/cups were clean. We were lucky enough to catch snow the weekend we were there (and a blizzard in Perisher!). Overall, a lovely place to stay and will be definitely be back

Perfect snowy mountains experience

Mich - 25th August 2016

Brilliant! Kangaroos right on your doorstep and perfect location to snowfields. We loved it!

Want to know more?